Skip to content

“Step Right Up to the The Magic of the Midway”

September 19, 2011

I have always been scared of going on the rides at the Midway. Over the years, I have just excused myself from the fair by saying, “Ya, I’m not really a fair person.” Sure, I love to go in the morning and see all the animals and check out the vegetables that won the blue ribbons but don’t ask me to stay until the midway opens.

But today, I actually waited until I knew the rides would be whirling around and the midway music would be playing before I headed out to the fairgrounds. I have been dying to photograph a ferris wheel for some time now. I’m not sure why, but I have pictured it in my mind, and so today, I just had to go to the Oxford County Fair.

As usual, what I ended up “focusing on” was not so much the ferris wheel, although I think I did shoot over 150 images of it, but the people at the fair was what (were whom, Thanks, Mom) really grabbed my attention. Lovely people working at the fair, and enjoying the fair! This post is to say “thank you” to all those folks who allowed me to photograph them as they worked and as they played. I heard many stories, and all the people I met today seemed genuinely very happy to be at the fair, enjoying this gorgeous mid-September day in Maine.

Keeper of the Ferris Wheel, Maine

The Keeper of the Wheel


Waiting for the kids, Maine county fair

Enjoying a moment while waiting for the kids

Waiting for the kids, Maine county fair

Such a cute couple and I told them so!

Maine County fair-The Zipper

The Zipper! Need I say more?

Maine Country Fair food

Fair Food and One Happy Man

Working folks at a Maine County Fair

Friendly Folks of the Fair Food

Maine County Fair official hat

Torquise County Fair hat-Love this!

The Ferris Wheel, Maine County Fair

Sunset on the Ferris Wheel

Boy with lollipop at Maine County Fair

Sharing

couple at Maine county fair

Dressed for the Fair

Technicolor Ferris Wheel, Maine County Fair

Colors of the Wheel

Smokey's Greater Shows, Oxford County, Maine

Great Night at the Fair

See you at the County Fair!
Love,
Nanette

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne Stuer permalink
    September 20, 2011 1:26 am

    Wow, Nanette! I think you really captured the heart of the Fair – makes me want to go to all the county fairs!! I really love the “Colors of the Wheel”. I also liked the edit/app you used on the Zipper – it gave it a nostalgic feel. Everyone looks so comfortable in front of your camera – you have “the touch”!!!

    • September 20, 2011 12:26 pm

      Ferris wheels are amazing to photograph. So many different angles. I think in the end, I really like the silhouette images best. The people were all so happy that day having fun at the fair and seemed to enjoy having their photos taken! Thanks for visting my blog, Anne!

  2. September 20, 2011 3:04 am

    These are awesome pictures. Great job on the bottom photo!!

    I always remember when Smoky’s Greater Shows came to Houlton.
    It was the highlight of the summer.

    • September 20, 2011 12:22 pm

      Yup, I think Smokey’s Greater Shows is a part of many childhood memories for many people and one of my reasons for some vintage processing on some of the shots! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving some love!

  3. September 20, 2011 3:55 am

    Love these! You have added one more special memory of the fair for those you photographed. You will be a part of their special day at the fair when they reminisce about the fair of 2011! I love the variety of your subjects, be it people or rides. You have really captured the spirit of country fun!

    • September 20, 2011 12:20 pm

      I certainly felt the spirit of the fair that day! The people I met will always be part of my memories, as well. Happy you enjoyed the photos!

  4. September 20, 2011 1:46 pm

    Amazing pictures! I want to blow them up for Jacks room! The ferris wheel would look fantastic at poster size!

  5. Paula Steingas permalink
    September 20, 2011 9:38 pm

    Super pics and I felt the excitement just looking at them! Love the colorful ferris wheel one against the bright blue sky! What fun! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Paula Steingas permalink
    September 20, 2011 9:40 pm

    wow…I actually did it right this time to post something! I have tried a few times now with no luck…such a ditz sometimes! It was so easy! What a ditz I can be! ha ha!

  7. Mary Beth permalink
    September 20, 2011 11:23 pm

    Thank you thank you Nanette! Pics are spectacular, and I didn’t even get sick! School year? So far so good! Love, Mary Beth

  8. September 21, 2011 1:27 am

    Those are fabulous pictures! Well worth a day at the fair.

    • September 21, 2011 3:42 am

      Thank you, Judy! I so appreciate you visiting my blog! It was a wonderful day at the fair! I’m hoping to get to more before the “fair season” is over!

  9. Mary McGillicuddy permalink
    September 23, 2011 9:58 am

    Loved these shots too Nanette. I used to love to ride the ferris wheel. The last time I went to a fair was in 1982 — on the back of a Harley 1300 Lowrider, with my purse in my lap. It was the Fryeburg fair, which I had never been to, and I didn’t realize it was an agricultural fair! My friend wanted to go through the barns where the cows were. Um, really? Why would ANYONE want to do that! It’s a bunch of cows that STINK and I had my purse and cute shoes on!

    Loved these pictures!

  10. September 25, 2011 12:53 am

    Oh, Mary, you are too funny! Gotta take care of that purse and those cute shoes! So… wanna go to the Fryeburg Fair with me this year? 🙂 I won’t make you go in the cow barns!

  11. October 12, 2011 3:40 pm

    Great to see you Nan, I had to check out the fair photos after you told me about them. It’s fun to hear the story behind the photos. Which are beautiful by the way!

    • October 12, 2011 6:48 pm

      Melissa, thanks so much for having me. So much fun! And thanks for taking the time to check out my fair photos. It was a great day…. Let me know when you have your blog up and rolling!

  12. Paula Grace permalink
    October 19, 2011 1:13 pm

    Thank you, Nanette for posting the beautiful photos of my son, Abram, sharing his lollipop and the awesome fair photos! Any chance I can get a copy of them?
    I enjoyed your blog, too :O)
    Paula Grace

    • October 19, 2011 1:33 pm

      Hi Paula Grace,
      So happy you found my blog! I love those endearing shots of your handsome son. Of course you can get a copy of them. Shoot me an email at cncram@valley.net and we can chat. Hope both of your adorable boys are doing great!
      xo Nanette

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.