Skip to content

Closure and Thanks

November 21, 2011

I think this is my month for closure and thanks. Saying good-bye to some people, places and things. This past Friday was a very big day for me. We, my five siblings and I, finally after three and one half years, closed my mother’s estate. It is such a relief, you have no idea. I thank my mother for all she has given me in this world. She was the most wonderful, loving, non-judgemental person I have ever met. I am so fortunate to been able to call her my mother.

This week, my daughters, husband and I are in Vermont for one last holiday before we are scheduled to close on our house here next Wednesday. It is a bitter-sweet closing leaving and giving up “our base” in Vermont near so many dear friends. But I know, many of our friends here, will be friends for life. I am thankful for them. Also, I am grateful and thankful to have found a buyer this time of year, and in this real estate market. We will now be able to begin our search for a new home in the Portland, Maine area where my husband is employed. Yes, bitter-sweet.

We will spend the Thanksgiving holiday with my husband’s family. And hopefully, spend lots of time with our friends during the week while we are here. Then we will load all the belongings we will need for the next few months into our cars. The movers will come next week and take the rest of our belongings to be stored until we have secured a home on the other end. This is a beautiful home with a couple of cozy spots I will miss. I thought I would share them with you.

Vermont, living room, interior design

Reading room

Vermont kitchen

sunny spot

So this week, as we celebrate Thanksgiving, I raise a toast to those people we have been blessed to know along this road we have travelled. I also celebrate the excitement of what’s ahead and those people we have yet to meet. Until next time… Have a wonderful holiday with your family and friends.
Lots of love,
Nanette

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Louise permalink
    November 21, 2011 5:50 pm

    Very sweet words, Nanette … reflecting much sensibility and kindness !
    Louise

    • November 21, 2011 7:39 pm

      As always, thank you, Louise! You are one of those people I am so excited to meet in the coming months!!

      • Louise BERTHEREAU permalink
        November 27, 2011 8:15 am

        Looking forward too, Nanette; Thank you !
        Louise

  2. November 21, 2011 6:47 pm

    I can’t believe you have been here for 4 years, and I have never stepped foot inside The kitchen looks very cool!

  3. November 21, 2011 7:40 pm

    Chris, we have actually been in this house for 6 years! The kitchen is very nice, so sunny in the mornings! Thanks for reading!

  4. Paula permalink
    November 21, 2011 9:51 pm

    I will miss the room with the red couch and fireplace and us chatting away in that cozy spot. I hope I can have at least one more night in there before they take it all away. Certainly bittersweet. I will miss the security of knowing the Cramtons will come back to “their” house…will cherish the memories. ❤

  5. Gluten-free Medley permalink
    November 21, 2011 10:56 pm

    I know you will add your special touch to the next home you find! I am grateful we were able to rekindle our friendship after so many years “out of touch”. I look forward to many coffee chats to come… 🙂

    • November 22, 2011 2:49 pm

      I am grateful for our friendship too, Anne! No doubt we will have many more coffee dates that turn into lunch dates!

  6. Jessica permalink
    December 5, 2011 6:05 pm

    Like Chris, I feel a little odd about seeing a place that is beloved to you and I have never set foot in it! I’m sure that the group of people who are looking forward to your move to Portland is getting larger by the minute. I know this because I’m in it. I can’t wait to see your next little cozy cottage! And I will!

  7. December 29, 2011 12:52 am

    Jess, it’s strange that so many family members never were able to visit us in Vermont but its so far from most everyone! I will miss my Vermont friends but I am looking forward to being a full-time “Mainer” again! You know, you are welcome to visit me anytime, wherever I may be hanging my hat! xoxo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.