Skip to content

For the Love of iPhoneography

February 8, 2012

I am so tickled to have been asked to write an article on iPhoneography, and to submit some iPhone images to Model Life Magazine for their February Valentine’s Day issue! The article and images can be found on pages 80-81! I am by no means an expert in the field of iPhoneography but I do love it and am inspired by it! Here is the article as published. Scroll to the bottom for some fun “app” suggestions! ~

maine, valentine, heart, iPhoneography

For the Love of iPhoneography

I fell in love with iPhone images a little over a year ago, and I have not gone a day since without shooting at least one if not hundreds! I was taking an online photography class with a woman in England last fall. She and other participants in the class were posting photos that I adored! They reminded me of dreamy old Polaroids from my childhood, the colors all muted with “fuzz” around the edges of some. I was dying to know how they were creating these images! I had a realization that the reason these photos “spoke” to me was because they best portrayed how I see the world in my “mind’s eye!” And shouldn’t we all photograph with whatever tools, be it film, camera, lens, which best enable us to portray, and then put–forth, our personal visions to the world?

So on my 51st birthday, the gal who was last in town, much to my daughters’ dismay, to purchase a home computer, and I, who was still using a $19.00 flip phone to chat on, boldly asked for what these classmates told me they were using to create these amazing images, an iPhone 4! My husband thought I was crazy! Of course, I also had to purchase what my new friends shared they were using for “apps.” The one I was primarily interested in at the time to create “like” images was Hipstamatic which comes with specific “lenses” and “films.” This was a whole new experience for me. And for almost one year, I never actually used my iPhone 4 for anything other than a camera!

The folks at CreativeLive, an online photography education resource, define “iPhoneography” the best! “It’s an art form, it’s creating community, it’s humanity documenting humanity, it’s social journalism, it’s a new way to see the connected world, and it’s EVOLVING at lightning speed.”
I have now taken thousands, maybe tens of thousands of iPhone images. I use many “apps” to shoot the images, and even more “apps” to process the images. To officially be considered iPhoneography, if one is interested in entering competitions or joining iPhoneography groups, and yes, I belong to a couple of these, you must shoot the image with either an iPhone or an iPad. The image must also only be processed with one of the same. The community around iPhoneography hums across all age groups and all countries, and it’s one of supporting and sharing of ideas and knowledge. I often ask folks in my groups what they used for apps to process a particular image. They are happy to share and often offer helpful tips on how to best manipulate the app.

For most of my professional work, I am still shooting my “big girl” Canon. Truly though, my iPhone images generate the most interest and emotion from my viewers. Its fun, its universal, the images portray how I view this big ole beautiful world, and as most people know, “ the best camera is the one you have with you!” And since my iPhone fits neatly in my back pocket…Voila!

Portland, Maine, stone hearts, valentine's day, iPhoneographyMaine beach roses, valentine's day, iPhoneography

Applications are purchased through iTunes and most are either free or .99. Where can you have this much fun at that price??
In the Spirit of Sharing, here are a few I am currently enjoying.
Hipstamatic (of course)
Iris
PhotoForge2
Pro HDR
SwankoLab
Blender
ArtistaOil
Pixlromatic
AutoStitch
Camera +

Thoughts, reactions, questions? Email me at: cncram@valley.net.

And find me on Facebook!

Happy Valentine’s Day!
Love,
Nanette

Maine, valentine's day, Portland, iPhoneography

East End Cupcakes, Old Port, Portland, Maine

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Paula permalink
    February 8, 2012 12:44 am

    wonderful Nanette…so proud of you and your work! You are an inspiration XXOO
    paula

  2. February 8, 2012 1:08 am

    Congrats on the magazine article!!! Thank you for sharing it and your photos!

  3. February 8, 2012 1:57 am

    Beautiful shots!! Very nice job with the post.

  4. Louise permalink
    February 8, 2012 9:00 am

    Amazing Nanette ! Words and shots are just fabulous ! Really proud to have “almost” met you …

  5. Mary permalink
    February 8, 2012 9:31 am

    Nice Nan! And love the cupcake lady shot too!

    • February 8, 2012 1:58 pm

      Mary, thank you so much for all your help shooting this assignment! Just posted another cupcake shot to FB…do those beautiful hands look familiar to you? 🙂

  6. February 8, 2012 10:41 pm

    Hi Nanette,
    Lovely article. I followed the workshop at creativeLive too and it’s been quite inspiring. I’ve created a list of the apps I use too on my blog and you might find it interesting http://davidroccato.com/apps/ but I have an idea to make it better, I just need to find the time! They say 2012 will be the year of iPhoneography, well, we are in now 🙂

    • February 8, 2012 11:00 pm

      Hi Dave, Thanks so much for your comment! I checked out your list and I am too using many of them but noticed a few I am not, and will check them out! Your work is great. Love the numbered “collage” type images you are doing within one image. Very interesting!

      • February 8, 2012 11:12 pm

        Thanks Nanette, I should write a sort of rating about some app on the list, because some of them are really five stars. The collages are made using “Frame Magic” and I try to remember how I edit and write it down for some curious outside there. Often the problem is that if I don’t write it in few minutes I forget the most of it but you know what it is, when we are in a creative moment we cannot be too rational. 😀

  7. February 8, 2012 11:56 pm

    Dave, can never be too rational when you’re in a creative moment! 🙂 Yes, rating apps is a great idea. I definitely have a handful that are my “go to” apps, and then have 10-15 others that I use occasionally!

Trackbacks

  1. For the Love of iPhoneography | Fearless Lines
  2. Valentine Repost ~ For the Love of iPhoneography | Nanette Faye Photography

Leave a Reply

