Skip to content

Contrasts in Living

July 6, 2017

I haven’t written for a while and have really missed the getting down of words from my head to the paper. Life has been a whirlwind of movement, which it usually is for me this time of year. I leave my little winter rental for a gypsy summer…just the way i like it.

Sitting here on my sister’s 100 acre organic farm, I am looking at the windmill humming along and the pink peonies blowing in the wind. It’s quiet except for the occasional trucks that are cutting wood down the road. I have brought in the eggs from the chicken house and have them on to boil for our evening meal of hard-boiled eggs, greens from the garden, and whatever else we can dig up. No one goes hungry here but we buy very little from the grocery store. She has delicious canned raspberries from last summer that I mix with yogurt in the morning, and she has a yummy canned tomatoes, zucchini and onion mix from last summer too that we use for all kinds of dishes. She has started some of her own black, Negra beans on to soak and then cook on her little two burners, for a chili she’ll make tomorrow.

The pace is slow here.. We sleep till we feel like getting up, or the dog wakes us up, we have coffee and discuss what we will accomplish on this day ahead of us. We take a walk. I only go for about half the time as the horseflies drive me back home, and I am not in nearly the shape of my sister who is 10 years my elder. Then, we work on our list of things we want to do. When I first arrived a couple of months ago, we worked on creating our summer list which includes many things that need to be done around the farm; plant the gardens, clean out the chicken coop, sell some old wood stoves no longer being used, and then there are things we want to do for fun…plein air painting (maybe naked, if we dare), photographing local people and writing their stories, visiting my grandmother’s old home, and visiting another organic farm recently started by an old friend, and skinny dipping. I know, I know…but we are trying to stay in the free and easy mode, and heck, no one lives around us here anyway. We eat a late afternoon dinner and go to bed before the sun sets most evenings.

The hard part, is that this little farm isn’t really a place I can stay too long, although I adore this special time with my sister. My feet get itchy to keep moving, and the social part of me needs to be with friends, go to some noisy restaurants, and walk some city streets. So, I head south for several days. And it’s a culture shock, but I like it. I see things with new eyes, in a different way than I did before I left the city. I do some work photographing and meeting with clients, I visit with friends and family. It’s hard for her here as she is alone now that her husband passed away in December but she will go and spend wonderful time, about a half hour south, visiting her kids and grandkids.  She is trying to decide where to go from here…. does she stay on the farm that she and her husband created, or does she leave this beautiful, but chore-heavy farm and buy a little place in town. This is one of the reasons I think I am here…to provide some space for her to be here on this sweet farm, without being so lonesome, so maybe she can figure out what comes next. And to just spend time together..

After several days in the city, I head back north to the Northern Maine woods. I feel happy as I hit the dirt road that leads to my sister’s farm. Again, with the strong contrast from where I have been, I am able to see the this slow, rural world through new eyes. I appreciate the quiet, and the days that circle around chores, the sound of the hum of the windmill and the wind chimes, and the sun. She waves to me from the garden as I pull in.

Lots of love from this Northern Maine neck-of-the-woods.  Only one image, as I don’t have internet here on the farm, and this hot spot sure uses lots of data!  More soon…

N

If you would like to follow along on Instagram, I would love to have you! Nanette Faye

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2017 2:31 pm

    Sounds lovely and peaceful. Enjoy.

    • July 10, 2017 7:31 am

      It really is! Thank you, and thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. Linda Peters permalink
    July 7, 2017 10:38 am

    Enjoy the quiet…whole different prospective! xo

    • July 10, 2017 7:32 am

      The change in scenery really does provide a different perspective. Its inspiring! xo

  3. Ben permalink
    July 10, 2017 8:32 am

    I feel relaxed just reading this, Nanette! What joy and balance and beauty your life seems to hold. So happy for you! Beautiful photograph!

    • July 14, 2017 6:32 am

      Ben, thank you so much for still being here reading along. I so appreciate that! I am with my sister on the farm for most of this summer, and it is very relaxed and peaceful. Another way of life from south of here, for sure! I hope you are well, and I think of you often. xo

Leave a Reply

