Skip to content

The hair on his chin. Living and loving through cancer.

March 14, 2017

cancer, chemo treatment, love, waldenstrom's macroglobulinemia

It’s 3am on Tuesday morning. He rises in the dark to begin his 3 1/2 hour trip north after a long weekend with me, as he needs to be in the office by 7. This long-distance relationship certainly presents its challenges but also has so many rewards.

I came in on the tail end of his cancer journey, and he, at the beginning of mine.  He was looking to “give back” for all the support he had been given during his two and a half year battle.  I welcomed a kind man to my support team, as, besides my brothers, I didn’t have a strong guy to lean on after I was diagnosed with breast cancer.  He understood the cancer fears and wasn’t afraid to talk about them. And he provided a safe place for me to share my feelings around what I was experiencing, by sharing his own experiences, feelings and emotions with me.

Each morning, he would send me a quote or thought for the day, sometimes funny, sometimes inspirational and sometimes just heart-felt.  In the afternoon, he would call to check in and see how radiation had gone.  In my cancer story, he is an integral part. In his, I am thankfully in the afterword. Although, in reality, his story is never-ending.  So, maybe it’s more like Chapter 2 as he has a rare blood cancer called Waldenstrom’s Macroglobulinemia. He will always carry it with him but has been keeping it at bay for three years this July.

During his many months of chemo treatments, he lost the hair on his body.  His chin was the first place it started to grow back.  He says he keeps it as a reminder of this, but I secretly think it’s because he knows I think it’s sexy. (wink, wink)  This is really his story to tell but I will say, I am happy that today he is strong and healthy, and with me, even if only on the weekends.  We are a great team in many things, besides just fighting cancer.  Yesterday, we were at Dana-Farber in Boston for his semi-annual work-up.  We got great news that he is doing very well. Our life plans go forward to wherever this long-distance relationship takes us. We are thankful.

I love this hair on his chinny chin chin, and what it represents for him, and for us.

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary McGillicuddy permalink
    March 14, 2017 7:13 am

    Love this and celebrate small things. Even if it’s hair on a chin (that’s not on ours!).

    • March 14, 2017 5:13 pm

      Oh. Mary, we do! Last night, we had a little champagne to celebrate Sarah’s birthday and Warren’s great appointment!

  2. Linda Peters permalink
    March 14, 2017 8:08 am

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful story…xoxo

    • March 15, 2017 8:02 am

      My pleasure, my dear friend. Thank you for reading and caring. xo

  3. Margaret R York permalink
    March 14, 2017 8:12 am

    So thankful he got good news…love you both ❤

    • March 15, 2017 8:01 am

      We are too, Meg! Relief, although we didn’t have big concerns this time. We love you too! xo

  4. Paula permalink
    March 14, 2017 1:31 pm

    Awww…I love this story and I agree the chin hair is sexy. Wink wink. Stay strong Warren…with Nanette by your side you can live long with love and heart. 💙

    • March 15, 2017 8:01 am

      Thank you, Paula. He’s a survivor, for sure! We’re doing everything we can to live a long and happy life. xo

  5. March 15, 2017 1:57 pm

    Such a moving and beautiful story, wonderfully told. My thoughts are with you to keep the big C away forever now!

Leave a Reply

