Skip to content

8 Great Reasons collaborating with other women is good for your business (and your soul)

August 2, 2016
Circle of Women, connecting and collaborating

Circle of Women, connecting and collaborating

I’ve found over the years, that most of my favorite photography work and personal projects have been collaborations I did with other women. Some men too, don’t get me wrong. But I do believe us women are natural collaborators, and natural supporters of each other.  I love when other women ask me to help them with a project, and i often seek out other women when I need help creatively, supportively or sometimes to just share the tasks. These are some things I have found to be true about collaborating that help me as a person, a women, and ultimately therefore, are good for my photography business.

1.     Inevitably some of her clients, through gained knowledge of my products or services, or getting to know me as a person, will become my clients too.
2.     Two, or three creative brains are always better than one. And it’s so much more fun!
3.     There is room for all of us. I don’t have a corner on any market, nor do I want one. I love seeing all women succeed in business, and feel that the more we support each other, the better our own businesses becomes.
4.     I learn! New ideas, new concepts, new things about people and how they live and who they are. I learn about new places…collaboration on projects often leads to people’s homes, or businesses, or some other outlandish place I’ve never been before, and wouldn’t have found myself if not through working with another business owner or creative.
IMG_0687
5.     I get to see the world, and my (creative) work, through someone else’s eyes.  My business does better because I, as a women and a business owner, become better “rounded.” I become more empathetic, understanding and knowledgeable through working with others.
6.     We, together, produce some pretty good damn art. Whether that’s photography art, writing art, the art of gathering like-minded women together, or the art of living creatively and intentionally. 
7.     We just don’t have to do it all alone. I don’t have to have ALL of the creative ideas, or be good at every step, or do all the work. So often when we are business for ourselves, we feel as though we do, that we are little islands all by ourself. When we collaborate with others we trust, the work flows between the two of you. No one feels so overwhelmed and in the end, everyone feels a commitment to the project. Everyone’s voice is heard and you can celebrate the small and larger business and personal victories together! Yay! Let’s have a glass of wine!

8.    And finally, we all make more money. Isn’t that one of the biggest reasons we are in business to begin with?  And, it’s not a dirty word! We all have dreams that need to be supported by making enough money. And we all should be financially rewarded for our hard work, efforts and creativity. I want to be an artist in business, but I don’t want to be a starving artist. I have found that working, creating and collaborating with other women works, in my heart and in my purse.

Women's retreat, Maine coast

Journey through the Creative Lens, women’s retreat weekend

 I have collaborated on many projects in the past few years. Some of have been through my photography business, such as sharing a photography blog with another female photographer “across the pond,” and others have been personal projects such as organizing and leading a women’s retreat weekend, where I did some leading/teaching, and two other creative, inspirational women shared in those roles. I walk away from projects I collaborate on with other women, feeling “filled up,” feeling an intricate part of a great whole!
 Tell me, what is one of your favorite collaborations you have done? What did you gain?
And if you have an idea for a collaborated project you’d like to run by me, leave a comment below, and let’s chat!
Cheers!
xo
Nanette
Find me on Facebook too! 
4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2016 5:15 pm

    I heartily agree that there’s room for all! I used to be competitive but being collaborative has gotten me a lot farther in life.

    • August 3, 2016 10:13 am

      And it just feels so much better too! Thanks for your comment, Allie! x

  2. August 3, 2016 5:01 am

    As usual, I enjoyed reading your words, they are very inviting to join in the Circle of Women. All the best to everything you will be undertaking and carry on with your skill and creativity. xo

    • August 3, 2016 10:15 am

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Louise! So happy you have joined our Circle of Women from afar! xo

Leave a Reply

