Skip to content

Gathering of Women

March 26, 2016

Spring, Springtime, Maine, flowerI think it must go back thousands of years…this need for women to gather.  When I was younger, it was to commiserate about how little sleep we were getting while raising our kids. To chat about how we were trying to coax our kids to study their spelling words, while we watched them play on the playground after school.  As our kids grew, getting together with other women gave us a chance to get out of the house for an evening (or an hour), indulge in some “adult-talk.”

In the early years before children, I went through a period where I didn’t make much of an effort to spend time with girlfriends.  I felt I should be spending time as a young, married woman, with my new husband. That he could fill all my needs for socializing. But little by little, I began to sense an emptiness.  This emptiness, I began to realize, stemmed from my lack of time and conversations with the kindred spirits of other women.

Three years ago (almost exactly three years ago), when “empty-nest (emptiness) syndrome hit, about the same time I was going through a divorce, the need to share and be with other women became not just a want but a need. I suggested to a girlfriend that we host a women’s retreat weekend where we laugh, eat, learn from each other, experience sunrise together and do some self exploration in a safe environment with other like-minded women.  Before our weekend retreat was even announced, as many women as we could handle in my little beach house, had signed up. And we had the best time! We met some new friends, walked the beach, drank some wine, played with photography and art journaling, and basically had lots of girl time. If I have to say so myself, the weekend was a great success!

Women's retreat, Maine coast

Journey through the Creative Lens, women’s retreat weekend, 2013

Fast forward… I am now knee deep into running my own photography business, and many of my girlfriends are entrepreneurs, artists, creatives, women doing amazing work, often by themselves, which sometimes can feel like a lonely venture. I began to wonder if other women might be feeling the same need as I am, to commune, network and spend a little more time with other women.   Birth of the idea of “Circle of Women.”

We have 19 women signed up today to join us. I am excited! We still have room for a couple more ladies who might be interested in joining us. Please let me know in the comment section below if that is you.

xo

Happy Easter weekend, dear friends.

Nanette

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

