Skip to content

The Power of the Human Touch

April 6, 2015

radiation 2I am participating in Susannah Conway’s April Love 2015 photo challenge.  And today’s prompt, “Touch,” got me thinking about something I have wanted to share here for a few months.

The Power of the human touch. 

If you know me, you know I am a touchy feely kind of person. I hug a lot, and am apt to touch your arm if we are chatting without even realizing I am. I think I’ve always been this way, just the way it is, and I haven’t thought too much about it. Until I was diagnosed with breast cancer which ultimately resulted in radiation treatments.

And then the human touch became everything.

The warmth of human touch ran counter to the cold, grey, metal machinery, it was the quiet from the whizzing of the equipment, it was the safety in the midst of fear, it was the humanness when feeling disconnected from my body parts, and it was the love that made it bearable to keep going back every day for several weeks.

I am so grateful to have learned this beautiful lesson of the Power of the human touch. I will never take it for granted, or ever wonder if touching someone’s arm during conversation is the right thing to do. We need to be touched. It’s healing, it’s powerful, and it’s essential to our happiness and well-being.

radiation 1 radiation 3

 

Wishing you warmth and love today.

xo

Nanette

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    April 7, 2015 6:54 am

    You know how strongly I believe in the power of touch. When Dina was in the hospital in Massachusetts dealing with rejection of bone marrow, I knew she hadn’t been touched. I packed my nail polish and no smell lotion and gave her a really soft hand and arm massage. She wanted her nails done too! Special day for sure.

  2. April 26, 2015 10:15 am

    Mary, friends like you who understand and are willing to go the extra mile, knowing what a friend needs, are very special and few and far between. I love calling you my friend for the past 25 years. xo

Leave a Reply

