Skip to content

A spiritual experience

December 8, 2014
St. Anthony's Franciscan Monastery

St. Anthony’s Franciscan Monastery

Sex, politics and religion, the taboo topics at cocktails parties, at the office Christmas party and surely on a blog.   I don’t think up until now I have discussed any of these…well, maybe sex once in awhile. You can check back in some of my posts and surely find that… actually maybe it was skinny-dipping but close enough. I digress..

This past weekend, my daughter and I took a quick trip to Kennebunkport to take in some of the lights and festivities in the village. She remarked it looked like “Whoville,” with all the beautiful decorations and people running around laughing and smiling all dressed in their winter best.  It reminded me of two years ago when I spent New Year’s Eve and New Year’s morning in Kennebunkport at the Seaside Inn, flying solo and shooting the first sunrise of the  new year down on the beach. It was a reflective, wonderful experience that someday I will surely do again. It also reminded me that the next morning, before leaving town, I had stopped at St. Antony’s Franciscan Monastery to view the beautiful estate grounds covered with snow. I parked my car and walked up to the amphitheatre which held a manger scene. I noticed I had not been the only one to wander up the middle “aisle” to get a closer look. There were many other footprints in the snow.

So, as well advised, I will not discuss religion here on my blog but I will say, even though I  have not set foot in a church for many, many years, I am a very spiritual woman…..and this scene moved me.

May your holiday season be filled with friends, family and a little bit of magic.

xo

Nanette

If you want to see the manger image larger, please click on it!

shiny things

shiny things

2 Comments leave one →
  1. betternotbroken permalink
    December 8, 2014 1:47 pm

    It is truly beautiful, thank you for sharing.

    • December 11, 2014 11:18 am

      Thank you for reading and leaving me some “love!”

Leave a Reply

