Skip to content

No man (or woman) is an island

September 29, 2014

“No man is an island,’ said John Donne. I feel we are all islands — in a common sea.”

~  Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Gift from the Sea

 

mackworth 2

mackworth 3

We all have our own struggles…you, me and that beautiful, impeccably-dressed person you saw in the coffee shop this morning. But friends can help. So many of us can’t reach out to them. For years and years, this was very difficult for me, as well. Too proud as I was the one who offered support, who was the strong one, the rock people could depend and rely on. And then something broke open, and I realized to have true relationships with true depth, I had to share of myself and be vulnerable. Sometimes its the hardest thing in the world to do, and sometimes its the most important.

These past few weeks I have asked for a lot of help and accepted it. Thank you, dear friends.

xo

I’d love to connect with you on social media. 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2014 7:54 am

    Wonderfully said and so true ❤

  2. Paula permalink
    September 30, 2014 8:01 am

    yup…you are a rock and one of the strongest for sure, but you can lean too sweetie….we will hold you up as you have done for us….with open arms ❤

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    October 1, 2014 5:37 am

    I just love reading your thoughts. The pictures are lovely, too 🙂 OXO

    • October 5, 2014 4:02 pm

      Thank you, Elizabeth…Always a struggle to know how much to share. Thank you for following along and always being such a wonderful, supportive friend. xoxo

  4. October 14, 2014 2:38 pm

    Nanette you express it so clearly. I have to struggle not to appear to always be alright…but now I am going fiercely in the other direction (typical overcompensation!). I think it’s a relief to let those parts of myself belong to me again – the needful parts we all have our reasons for disowning. It’s so ironic that finally letting oneself need others is the most courageous thing. I am thinking of you, and treasuring seeing the beautiful colors and symbols in your images. Healing and comfort! Brenna

Leave a Reply

