Skip to content

My sister

September 11, 2014

IMG_1866

 

My sister has been here with me for the past week.  She left yesterday morning to head back to her home in Northern Maine as it was time for us all to get back to our “real lives.”  The day after she arrived, I had my second breast surgery in a month with a recovery that was not quite as easy and smooth as the first. Fortunately for me, most of it is fairly foggy.  The surgery went great with results coming back clear. Very good news.

I am already missing her being here with me. She is a bright light in my life! She is adorable and funny. She accepts me for exactly who I am. She is very nervous about driving in “city traffic” but was such a trooper about doing all the errand runs that needed to be done. She nested my new home and cooked delicious meals. She helped entertain guests as I mostly sat quietly and listened. She hung out for hours and hours with me in the sunshine on the porch drinking coffee and talking about everything under the sun. She was my rock, my nurse and the one who kept me feeling sane.

And we both love our little red shoes.  I will miss hers cozying up next to mine….

Thank you, dear sister.

xo

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2014 7:54 pm

    Love

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. September 11, 2014 8:05 pm

    Healing blessings to you.

    • September 14, 2014 8:29 am

      Gretchen, thank you so much…Blessings to you, as well.

  3. September 11, 2014 8:09 pm

    ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

  4. September 11, 2014 8:16 pm

    She sounds wonderful!

  5. Paula permalink
    September 11, 2014 9:37 pm

    Tears in my eyes…so perfectly said Nan… I love you sweet friend and so so glad your sweet sister was and always is there for you. You are blessed 💙

    • September 14, 2014 8:32 am

      Dearest Paula, yes, I am blessed. She took such good care of me and she’s so much fun too! Love you too, sweet friend! xo

  6. Julie Steinbach permalink
    September 11, 2014 10:29 pm

    So sweet, the two of you.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • September 14, 2014 8:35 am

      Right back at you, Julie! Thank you for all your love through this ordeal….xo

  7. Leslie permalink
    September 12, 2014 6:39 am

    I love the shoes, and I fell in love with your sister too! I am so glad you are doing well.

    • September 14, 2014 8:36 am

      Thank you for visiting, Leslie! Wonderful to see you! Sue loved you too! xo

  8. Karla permalink
    September 12, 2014 8:25 pm

    So glad you are doing well and had your sister by your side ❤ Sister's are the best!

    • September 14, 2014 8:50 am

      Yes, they are, Karla! We are both very fortunate to have such sweet sisters! xo

Trackbacks

  1. what is beautiful remains

Leave a Reply

