Skip to content

A Very Special Place ~ Raven Hill Farm

August 30, 2012

Where do I begin…I love this place. But even more importantly, I love the people who built, cherish, protect and live here.

I could stop there but I won’t. Here is where my daughters had their first lesson on which mushrooms are fine to eat, and which ones are not. Here is where I took one of my favorite photographs of my oldest looking so happy and relaxed leaning against the wood shed. Here is where I roam the land with my sister talking about things of the heart, and am then blessed to have my brother-in-law recount the plot of his newest novel while its still in the editing phase. Here I eat, cooked by a loved one, some of the most delicious food of my life. This past morning, my sister and I sat in our nighties by the cook stove while my brother-in-law made a frittata with eggs laid by “the girls” and freshly picked greens, onion and garlic picked about 5 minutes before it went in the frying pan. I savored every bite.

I have to admit..this place is romantic to me. Gorgeous gardens of flowers and vegetables, fields of wildflowers and deer, and an old house that feels more like a cozy bear’s den. The only time, it was not so romantic was when I visited during a cold snap of below zero weather and had to make my way to the outhouse a little after midnight. But in retrospect, that was even a little romantic too.

My sister and brother-in-law are the keepers of this land. It feels like a sacred, special place to me, and I am blessed to be welcomed here with open arms. But just one thing…don’t ask me how to get there, I will not tell!

Until next time…Enjoy your day tomorrow. It only comes once in a Blue Moon!

Lots of love,

Nanette

www.nanettefayephotography.com

vegies, antiques, northern maine, photography, Nanette Faye Photography

antiques, Maine, Northern Maine, kitchen, lemons, garlic, antique kitchen, photography, Nanette Faye Photographypreserves, canning, Maine, Northern Maine, vegies, antique, kitchen, photography, Nanette Faye Photographykitchen cupboards, antiques, Maine, Northern Maine, Maine photographer, Maine photography, nanette Faye Photographyflowers, recipes, Maine, silver, Northern Maine, zinneas, photography, Nanette Faye Photographysilver, antiques, Maine, Maine photographer, Northern Maine, Nanette Faye PhotographyMaine, farm, farmhouse, antique, architecture, Maine photographer, photography, Nanette Faye Photographyfarmhouse, Maine, Maine photographer, Northern Maine photographer, architecture, Nanette Faye Photographyflowers, shed, farm, farmhouse, yellow, Maine, Maine farmhouse, Maine photographer, Nanette Faye Photographyflowers, gardens, flower garden, Maine, Northern Maine, Maine photographer, Nanette Faye Photography, farmkitchen, Maine kitchen, man in kitchen, Northern Maine, farm, farmhouse kitchen, Nanette Faye Photographyclock, teapot, kettle, antiques, Maine antiques, farm, farmhouse, Northern Maine, Maine photographer, Nanette Faye Photographyflowers, field of flowers, purple flowers, Maine farm, Northern Maine farm, iphone, iPhoneography, Nanette Faye Photography

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    August 30, 2012 8:20 pm

    Beautiful, Nan. No wonder you love this special place! 🙂

  2. August 30, 2012 10:27 pm

    I can see why this is such a special place to you…so glad you were able to spend time with your family!

  3. August 30, 2012 10:43 pm

    Sweet!! It’s a different world up there.

  4. August 31, 2012 3:25 am

    What a beautiful space your sister and brother-in-law have created. It looks so inviting and filled with love.

  5. August 31, 2012 3:41 am

    Thanks for lettting us visit such a magical place!

  6. August 31, 2012 5:58 am

    Beautiful photographs, I can see why you love the place! It’s mesmerising, thank you for sharing such wonderful inspiration!

  7. Paula permalink
    August 31, 2012 6:30 am

    Wow…this is such a romantic place and your pictures surely are proof. Thank you for sharing this secret garden and magical place with us. I can see how it might be a peaceful, warm and cozy home for you. These pics could easily be spread in like a country living magazine or maybe even good ole Martha 🙂
    I would like to know if they have a good Salsa recipe? I would like to can some salsa this year, soon, and am looking for a good recipe. Would also like to add some tomatilla’s to it. Any thoughts from your dear sister would be welcome.

  8. Louise permalink
    August 31, 2012 7:08 am

    Very moving the way you describe this so “special place” for you… Thank you, Nanette, for sharing this part of “your story”. This gets up to make me know you better which for me is priceless. The shots are the way you know how to see. I just love them.

  9. September 4, 2012 1:06 am

    What a treasure trove!

Leave a Reply

