Skip to content

Her adventure begins

July 23, 2012

daughter, mother, Maine, Maine coast, mother and daughter, ocean, Kennebunkport,  Southern Maine, Nanette Faye PhotographyIn less than 48 hours, my daughter’s adventure to the other side of the world, Melbourne, Australia officially begins!  First, she will fly from Boston to Los Angeles, and then on from there to the Down Under.  28 hours in cars, buses and planes before she arrives at her destination. While there, she will be studying at Swinburne University through a reciprocal program with Northeastern University, where she will return for her January semester. I can only imagine the adventures she will have, and I am so proud of her for daring to embark on this journey her first semester of her college career. In addition to studying, she will visit wildlife sanctuaries, do community service work, volunteer at a horse race much like our Kentucky Derby, take a few surf lessons, shop and cook all of her own meals, and probably drink some “amber fluid” as the drinking age is 18!

We are planning to stay in touch through Skype, postcards, Facebook, and texting once in a while when she has access to free wi-fi. It will be a long 4 months until she returns home a few days after Thanksgiving but I know she will have the time of her life!

So… I will send her off with a kiss and a hug, kind of wishing I was going with her but knowing it’s time for her to spread her wings and take flight out into this great, big exciting world.

I love you, honey. Safe travels and I will be here when you return!

Love always,

Your Mama

xo

P.S. Thanks so much to Danielle for thinking to turn the camera on Ellie and me the other evening after I finished up her session. I am not one who likes to be on the other side of the camera but I am sure glad I have this one to cherish, especially for the next 4 months!

www.nanettefayephotography.com

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    July 23, 2012 9:47 pm

    Nan, you have raised your daughter to be smart and independent, just like her Mama! This brought tears to my eyes as I read because I can only imagine how hard it is to let her go! So happy Ellie gets the opportunity for such an adventure and glad she is brave enough to spread her wings at her age! Safe travels to Ellie and hope to see you soon, Mama!
    Love, Andrea

    • July 29, 2012 8:23 pm

      Thank you, Andrea! She is smarter and more independent than her Mama but I like to think she got these traits from me! 🙂 She is a brave one! I will be seeing you soon! xo

  2. Louise permalink
    July 24, 2012 2:21 am

    Nanette, I was really touched reading your words…
    I know your feeling at this moment, I have myself experienced the same situation.
    Our kids can be far away geographically, but you know, they will always be OUR kids. They are thoroughly aware that their Mama was, is and will always be there for them. This is the most precious piece in the puzzle of their life…and, this is what gives them the strength to cross over the path which leads them towards their own road…
    Ellie, have a safe travel, enjoy and take advantage of every minute of your new adventure !
    Nanette, be strong but first be proud of having succeeded in your Mama’s task and duty !
    This will help you…
    From across the ocean, my thoughts will be with you, more than ever, and specially in the next coming days,
    Love you girls !
    Louise

    • July 29, 2012 8:27 pm

      Louise, now that I have seen her sweet face in her new room in Australia, I can finally respond to your thoughtful words. They will always be ours, and we have done our best to prepare them for this moment in their lives. I am very proud of her courage to head out on this adventure and yes, proud of myself for being able to whole-heartedly support her in this! I have felt your thoughts with me all the way across the ocean! Thank you, dear friend! xo

  3. July 24, 2012 5:28 am

    Thank goodness for the internet for keeping us close to our kids when they’re out there in the world. I lived in Melbourne for the last five years and she couldn’t have picked a better city to visit. She’s going to have a ball, and have so much to tell you on Skype while she’s away and when she gets back home again. Because as hard as it is letting our babies go, it’s so wonderful when they come back. Lovely post – thankyou for sharing.

    • July 29, 2012 8:30 pm

      Michelle, my daughter and i had our first Skype session this morning (well nighttime for her)! Skype is my new best friend! How wonderful you were able to live there for 5 years! Thank you for the vote of confidence that everything will be ok!

  4. July 24, 2012 9:43 am

    It will be such a wonderful experience and she is such a sweet smart girl! You did a fabulous job – wish her the best!!

    • July 29, 2012 8:31 pm

      Thank you, Emily! She is a keeper! And thank you so much for “documenting” her in all her glory before she left! xo

  5. July 25, 2012 11:14 pm

    I hope she has the time of her life. This is my first visit to your blog, but I am crying for you tonight as I fall asleep. I know you will miss your baby. I hope she has the time of her life. Godspeed to your baby.

    • July 29, 2012 8:33 pm

      Life with Kaishon, thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving me some love! I do miss her already but she is growing and spreading her wings as she should!

  6. July 27, 2012 5:38 am

    Not an easy step to take for you, letting go with a blessing I mean. You did well.
    She will be back and share.

    • July 29, 2012 8:35 pm

      Aprille, not easy but this is not the first time I have had to “let her go.” She is a traveler, that girl! I always do my best to see her on her way with a smile and save my sadness for another time…

  7. Paula permalink
    July 28, 2012 10:16 pm

    beautiful blog about 2 beautiful women and the picture says it all…the love of a mother near or far will always be in her heart…she will feel it in Australia as she tries to fly with her wings you have raised her to have.
    You are a wonderful mom and she will have the time of her life and share it all with you.
    hugs and more hugs

    • July 29, 2012 8:37 pm

      Oh, Paula..thank you for your thoughts on the photo.. it’s a special one, for sure! You know how i feel about my girls, just as you feel about your sweet babies.. Spoke and saw her this morning by Skype and she assured me she is well and happy. Brave girl!

      • Paula permalink
        July 29, 2012 9:01 pm

        so very brave…I only wish at her age I had half her bravery…even now I wish I had half her bravery although I think I have gained more thru my years! So glad you got to skype her…so so special for you…I know how much it would mean to me

Leave a Reply

