Skip to content

My Mother

April 14, 2012

Have I told you about My Mother?

photography, Nanette Faye Photography, ring, saphire, hand

She was….beautiful.

She was….a square dance lover with her cherished partner in life, my Dad.

She was….the best listener and most non-judgemental person I have ever known.

She was….my daughters’ Nana and their biggest fan.

She was….so smart, and strived to keep learning new things all of her life.

She was….slim, trim and always fashionable even when finances were tight.

She was….the person I called when I had the most exciting news, and when I had the saddest.

She was…. adventurous and always up for anything.

She was…. interested in politics and loved Olympia Snowe.

She was…..the most gracious, warm and welcoming hostess into her home.

She was…..a lover of babies, and was there to help each and every one of us when we brought new babies into this world. My husband cried when she left to go home after our babies were born.

She was…..the maker of the best homemade wheat rolls around.

She was…..the person who believed I could do anything.

She was…..the wearer of the ring I now treasure.

She was….gentle but strong.

She was..my North star.

She was My Mother

So thankful a part of her is always with me….I just know for sure that it’s not the fashionable part!

Love you, Mom.

Your daughter   xo

Margaret (Peggy) Ruth Gordon  ~  Sept 17, 1929 – April 14, 2008

Maine coast, ocean, photography, spiritual, Nanette Faye Photography, birds

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary McGillicuddy permalink
    April 14, 2012 8:44 am

    And she shared my birthday! Nice tribute to her.

  2. April 14, 2012 8:58 am

    Nanette, your post brought tears to my eyes. I have such a strong sense of this wonderful woman, who was your mother. You have created such a tender, loving tribute.

  3. dardeela permalink
    April 14, 2012 9:08 am

    I wish I had met your mom.I know I would have loved her because I love you, her daughter. You have inherited, learned, and possess many of the traits and qualities of your mom’s. You have her strength, grace, intelligence, and warmth. You have her energy and sense of fun and are always welcoming. She was an amazing role model for you. I wish I could sit down for tea with her and listen to her memories of you growing up. I have heard many of your stories of your mom and in your voice is admiration, love, and happiness when you tell of your childhood with your mom. I wish I could hug her and thank her for giving me my best friend. Love you, Darla

  4. erin mcgillicuddy permalink
    April 14, 2012 10:23 am

    Even though I was just a kid, she was the most warm, welcoming hostess. I remember staying over night, and she was the most lovely person. She was so kind, polite and considerate of us kids. Everyone liked going to your house, Nan, because it was such a nice place to be because of your parents and their friendly welcoming nature. Your mother was a Queen…

  5. April 14, 2012 10:39 am

    she was – the woman who gave the world YOU! what a beautiful way to focus on her true legacy, nannette! i love the poetic structure of your post, it has so much strength and honesty, and reveals her (and you) so deeply. thank you for sharing your joy and sorrow with us today. Much love and comfort! brenna

  6. April 14, 2012 11:39 am

    Thank you for sharing these beautiful thoughts about your mom, Nannette! It is a lovely tribute to her memory. She had much in common with my own mom—whose name was also Margaret, born 14 December 1929— and I found myself weeping as I read your words. It has been four and a half months since my mother’s death and I remain devastated by her loss. Please know you are in my thoughts today and that I found great comfort in your post.

    Best—
    Mary

  7. April 14, 2012 11:44 am

    Nanette you have so many of the same fine traits you describe in your Mother. I still can’t get over how gracious a host you were to all of us last weekend. I suspect you learned this from the lovely lady you described above. The greatest honor we can give our mother’s is to celebrate the things they did for us and the influence they had on our lives. You have expressed this beautifully.

  8. Jeri Lyn Buckalew permalink
    April 14, 2012 6:24 pm

    What a tribute Nanette! I know you miss her terribly. Thank God for the legacy she left.

  9. Andrea permalink
    April 14, 2012 10:14 pm

    This is a beautiful tribute to your Mom, Nan! There is so much of her that I see in you. I remember her being so very nice and kind and interested in what a kid was saying. You have her ways and mannerisms about you! Also, you don’t give yourself enough credit in the fashion department! 🙂

  10. April 16, 2012 10:23 am

    She was unreal. I think of her everyday. Beautiful job.

  11. April 17, 2012 1:20 am

    Beautiful Nanette. Thank you for sharing your mother with us. I love, “My husband cried when she left to go home after our babies were born.” That says a lot. A great tribute.

Leave a Reply

