Skip to content

Thoughts on Vulnerability

April 13, 2012

photography, Nanette Faye Photography, Mother, Mother's Day, flowers, flower boxes, Charleston
You may have noticed that I share a lot of personal things on my blog. There may be times you are reading along and think, “Yikes! Why is Nanette telling us these things about herself….too much information!”  And…maybe so. But you know for years, I rarely talked about my own feelings, weaknesses, or fears. And I realized it just wasn’t working for me any longer. But truthfully guys, this is pretty scary stuff for me still!
Most of my life, I have been convinced that showing my vulnerabilities made me appear weak and not in control. I feared I would alienate those who depended on me if I showed any signs of vulnerability, and they would feel I could not be supportive to them if I had issues of my own. The greatest gift, and surprise, has been that I have been proved completely wrong. In fact, I am finding its the polar opposite. When I dare reveal my vulnerabilities, share my weaknesses, and present the “real me” to others, I am rewarded triple-fold with deeper, more meaningful, and more “real” relationships with friends and family.

Tomorrow is an important anniversary date for me. I will be sharing some thoughts and reflections on the sweet woman I was blessed to call My Mom.

Until then,

Lots of love,

Nanette

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 1:23 pm

    Beautiful photo and wonderful sharing! I agree, sometimes we need to be reminded that we’re all human – with fears, worries, joys, etc. – ALL the emotions are part of each of us. Thank you, Nanette!

  2. Linda permalink
    April 13, 2012 1:30 pm

    What a beautiful message:)

  3. April 13, 2012 2:20 pm

    so well said, and so glad you have let yourself emerge!

  4. April 14, 2012 1:44 am

    The strength and wholeness found in admitting vulnerability is definitely one of the things I’ve been learning lately as well.

  5. Shelley permalink
    April 14, 2012 4:30 pm

    You are a beautiful, warm, strong, “real” woman and I am so proud to call you my friend. You make me want to be a better mom, daughter, sister, wife…I cherish you and all your “vulnerabilities”.

  6. April 16, 2012 10:05 am

    Thanks, Nanette, for writing this post. There is something powerful about revealing our hearts, as frightening as it is. You remind me of that truth. Thank you.

  7. April 16, 2012 8:06 pm

    There’s something so powerful and beautiful in allowing yourself to be vulnerable. Please don’t be afraid to show that side of yourself! You have many friends here who are happy to share with you, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

