Skip to content

16 things you might not know about me

March 27, 2012

I am in Week 4 of this incredible ecourse (journey), Blogging from the Heart, with Susannah Conway leading our tribe of 14o women from around the globe. The courage of these women to open up and share their hearts in their writing is nothing short of amazing. In light of that, I have mustered up the courage to share a few things you may not know about me…

Maine coast, seashells, ocean, photography, Nanette Faye Photography, winter ocean

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. I worked for the Department of Corrections for many years, primarily in facilities with male inmates.

2. One of my biggest dreams was to homeschool my girls along side the ocean ~ I am restructuring that dream as my girls are almost grown but I have great nieces and nephews who are homeschooled!

3. With my camera in my hands,  I lose all track of time and am oblivious to meals..

4. I am messy and my husband is a neatnic.

5. I  am not much of a cook and can eat the same thing for lunch every day for a week.

6. After 4 years of college, I still had 3 credits to finish before I could graduate. It took me 5 years to finally get that last course under my belt and receive my diploma.

7. I have lived in the mountains for 20 years but my “home” is really the ocean ~ that is my next move!

8. I love people;  talking to people, meeting new people, and finding out about how others have chosen to live their lives. My husband always wonders why people tell me their life stories while I’m standing in line at the grocery store.

9. All of my childhood summers were spent  on a little lake in northern Maine.  Mostly swimming, feedings the ducks, reading Archie comic books, and playing Monopoly.

10. I was once married to a man who’s days were dictated by the ocean’s surf.

11. I picked potatoes every fall growing up to earn money for college, school clothes, and Christmas gifts.

12. I don’t have the foggiest idea how to blow-dry my hair.

13. I am a footwear minimalist. I have two pair of sandals for summer and two pair of clogs for winter.

14. My favorite movie of all time is The Sound of Music. I have had a secret crush on Christopher Plummer for 40 years.

Nanette Faye Photography, sibings, sisters and brothers, Gordon siblings

The most recent photo of all 6 siblings.

15. I come from a family of 6 children…4 brothers, 1 sister, and me.

16. I believe in fairy tales and happily-ever-afters.

I would love to get to know more about you!

Lots of love from the sunny but chilly mountains of Maine!

Nanette

www.nanettefayephotography.com

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Louise permalink
    March 27, 2012 11:41 am

    We share items : 3, 5, 8 and 12 … Not too bad, what do you think ?
    I could tell you my story too if you want, but where should I write it ? It’s about time you know a bit more about this old French/British lady, keeping posting comments on your fantastic illustrations of your gift being a great photographer …
    Have a great day, Nanette… Quite warm here !
    Louise

    • March 27, 2012 11:47 am

      Louise, I love that we share those particular things! yay! If you want to write it to me personally, feel free to send it to my email, cncram@valley.net. If you would like to share it with my blogging friends here, feel free to write it in a document and then attach the link in the comment section here! I can’t wait to hear more of “your story!”

  2. Louise permalink
    March 27, 2012 12:11 pm

    Nanette, I can of course write and share it with your friends… But, it is the way to attach the link which is what I do not know how to proceed (not too smart on computer) … Say I write it on Microsoft Word, I save it with its title and then … Help please, merci !

  3. March 27, 2012 12:42 pm

    I attempted a much longer comment yet it wouldn’t process…weird
    Nanette,
    This post is pure gold – there are so many things I resonate with including the fact that I am considering unschooling my 6 1/2 year old twins next year and if you lean way over the fence in my back yard you can see the Pacific… your sentiment really touched my heart.

    I see the jewel of your heart shining brightly in this post. Thank you for sharing this piece of your light with the world! It is with each of these expressions of our authentic voice that we change the world for the better!

    • March 27, 2012 8:23 pm

      Amy, I love your “pure gold” comment..thanks so much! I think unschooling is a wonderful idea! Enjoy those kiddos and all their natural curiosities! I do believe the authentic voice is creeping to the surface with the help especially from the lovely BFTH women!

  4. March 27, 2012 2:23 pm

    Nanette, well done on a beautiful post. I loved learning more about you. I love the ocean too and although I live in Florida… don’t visit it enough. I long for mountains too… I’m with you on loosing track of time and meals while camera is in hand.

    • March 27, 2012 8:25 pm

      Hello Vanessa! You can always come to Maine and visit me in the mountains! We would take lots of pictures and eat few meals! 🙂 xo

  5. Louise permalink
    March 27, 2012 2:29 pm

    A few words about me, Louise

    1. Born in Mauritius Island, with a camera in my hand and surrounded by the sea (can’t live without you … the sea) !

    2. Only child… my Dad used to say “after a masterpiece, the artist stops”… (mentioning this just for fun)

    3. I too loose total control of everything with my “best friends” … my cameras

    4. I enjoyed all my steps of education from school to university, great time

    5. I love travelling, so many places for me to see …Love meeting people too, this may be linked. I travelled quite a lot with my parents, may be this is the reason why ?

    6. When I like, I like… when I hate, I hate. I just can’t make any effort and do not even think about targeting towards the effort

    7. I like simple things, simple persons, true people in fact

    8. I hate to see people (even if I do not know them) unhappy, ill, alone… this brings tears to my eyes

    9. As far as cooking is concerned, I am not a “chef” but sometimes it happens that I may put all my heart in cooking for my family and friends

    10. Strong interest of new technologies : smartphones, computers, iPads and so on

    11. Proud of my 2 children, my sweetie, Julie and my “light house”, Pierre-Albin (sometimes I may be a wrecked ship)

    12. I do not draw any importance to my hair style, I am as I am, this is all !

    13. I love sea food, lobsters, fish, chocolates and all candies and cakes : do you call that “greedy” ?

    14. Faithful to my friends (I do not have a lot, but they are there when needed and I am there for them

    15. Music : depends what “I ear” when I listen

    16. I like neat things, I try to be always on time

    Thank you for taking time to read these few lines …

    Louise
    From Brittany, France
    03/27/2012

    • March 27, 2012 8:28 pm

      Louise, you were so courageous to share all of these things with me and my readers! Thank you! Loved getting to know you a little better before really getting to know you! I think we will get along ‘swimmingly!” xo

  6. Mary McGillicuddy permalink
    March 27, 2012 6:27 pm

    Love this blog. I know many of those things about you and I was at the first wedding! I laughed at 12 and 13. I blow dry my hair twice a day every day. And shoes — I have two closets just for shoes. Here are some things that people don’t know about me — but will not be surprised. I have never touched an animal of any kind. I have never gone bowling. I have never eaten seafood. I have never made it to the top of the largest mountain in Maine — and it was in my backyard.

    Love this thread.

    • March 27, 2012 8:31 pm

      Mary, love that you knew many of these…that means alot! You were brave to share your “nevers..” They did not surprise me but I didn’t know them for sure. Love you my dear old friend. xo

  7. Paula permalink
    March 27, 2012 7:50 pm

    Wonderful blog again Nanette and I would love it if Darla and I shared ours with you as well. Fun! Your blogging class is great!
    I am amazed at the responses as well…so nice to hear about Louise, and Mary…so sorry you have never touched an animal of any kind! Wow! My doggies bring me such comfort I can’t imagine. I think you need to add it to your bucket list along with bowling and seafood, if you don’t mind me saying…go for it! Maybe others will post things they have not done and you will be amazed too!
    Nanette I share #8 with you for sure…my kids are always telling me how I will just talk to anyone and what I find out about them! Also for sure I share your last but not least #16…happily ever afters…rose colored glasses…love them ❤
    I hope you get your happily ever after living by the beach sitting in a turquoise colored adirondack chair drinking cheap beer…….etc….. 🙂

    • March 27, 2012 8:33 pm

      Paula, share away! Would love to hear what I may not know about you or your “nevers!” But I bet a would already know most of them! Thanks for reading and sharing! xo

    • Mary McGillicuddy permalink
      March 28, 2012 4:13 am

      Paula — of course I do not mind that you said that. Adding climbing Mt Katahdin will be added to my bucket list for sure but I don’t think the doggies will make it! I have a lifelong fear of animals that has gotten worse as I get older. My fearful reaction to animals is so strong that they smell it. My pulse races. And I mean races. I pray and go somewhere beautiful in my head when I am around dogs who are on leashes across the street or path that I walk on – even when I am feeling safe.

      • March 28, 2012 6:55 am

        Mary, I haven’t climbed Katahdin for 20 years. If you really decide to go..let me know! I will go with you!

  8. Leslie permalink
    March 27, 2012 8:28 pm

    Ok, I knew 10. Is that close enough to go to Brittany?

    • March 27, 2012 8:35 pm

      Haha…Louise, this one is connected to you too!! And Leslie, maybeee, it might depend on which 6 you did not know!! 🙂 Wonderful catching up today!

    • Louise permalink
      March 28, 2012 9:27 am

      Brittany is just across the ocean, Leslie 🙂

  9. March 28, 2012 9:33 am

    I am just gonna say it….I LOVE it when friends from many different areas of my life come together and chat with one another in this place! So much fun!!

  10. Paula permalink
    March 29, 2012 1:16 am

    yes, so true Nanette…the joys of blogging…brings people who don’t know each other at all together. Mary…how brave of you to open that up about yourself and the fear of animals. I can understand if you had a bad experience ~ it can damage someone for life. I had a bad experience when I was a young girl but it was just a German Shepard came out of nowhere, barking his head off in a mean way, one day while I was walking to school and I just stood there, froze and almost peed in my pants!! Thank goodness his owner came outside and called him and all was fine but a scary moment I never forgot…hence…a little fear of Germans ~ Shepard’s that is! But my doggies will lots of times take away my fears or cheer me up…they are so unconditional and hug me when I need it the most.
    You and Nanette need to hike Katahdin…would love to join you!!

  11. March 31, 2012 11:59 pm

    Nanette – I so love your post! Your list is wonderful..and what a wonderful way to get to know you a little better. It’s just magic. I could picture so much. I haven’t done this yet – the list – you’ve inspired me to give it a try. Thanks!
    Juli (visiting from BftH)
    ps. I’m one of seven kids. Three brothers, three sisters and me. I’m sure we could swap wonderful stories of life in a big family! 🙂

Leave a Reply

