Skip to content

48 Hours in My Hometown in Northern Maine

October 13, 2011
Maine Autumn leaves, Fall Foliage

The Colors of Maine in Autumn

~Photographed Mt Katahdin at noon on my way north…not ideal timing but still gorgeous fall colors.

~Met my new grand-niece, Addie. Love her! Such a little pixie.

~Went for a photo “walk around” with several of the children in our family. They all had single-use cameras. I saw the world through the eyes of a child.

Maine kids with cameras

Smile!


~Chatted late into the night with my only sister. Then slept snuggled beside her with the windows wide open and the cool breeze blowing in.

~Was licked, tickled, nudged, flirted with and kissed by many little horses.

~Shot 1,476 digital images and 72 iPhone images

~Visited, laughed and smooched many grand nieces and nephews whom I have not seen for way too long.

~Walked with a friend and his wife who I had not seen for almost 35 years.

~Left with a box of organic vegetables so heavy I can barely lift it. Lovingly grown and cared for by family.

~Played in a hayloft

~Ate delicious thick, greasy pizza and drank cheap beer.(My favorite kind)

~Visited family in a home I have visited with family in for 40 years.

~Reminisced about the old times and celebrated today.

And most importantly……..

~Felt the love of Family and childhood friends.
…..I hope they felt the same love from me right back at them!

The shelter of Family, maine farm kids

We're Family

I wasn’t able to stay nearly long enough nor did I see all the friends I would have loved to have been able to see! I guess that means I need to head North again very soon.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 12:43 am

    Sounds like you had a blast!! Great pictures. They are amazing. I think you should just move back up there.
    I hear 22 Alfred Street is for sale.

  2. Andrea permalink
    October 13, 2011 12:44 am

    Very soon, Nanette Faye! πŸ™‚

  3. Paula Steingas permalink
    October 13, 2011 3:04 am

    Nanette the pics are priceless and sounds like you had so much fun being a kid again yourself and sharing good memories with old friends and of course “sister time” is always so very special. Don’t know what I would do without mine. Glad for you that you had those few days with loved ones.

  4. Darla Dee permalink
    October 13, 2011 3:10 am

    I love this log of your two days of family, friends, and fun! What a magical time you will never forget. Each generation of our family carries our memories forward. You have created memories with these children that will extend into the future. What a wonderful spontaneous adventure you embarked upon. I love your willingness to jump into the next experience. Love the pictures of your little grand nieces and nephews, so precious.

    • October 13, 2011 2:00 pm

      You are right, this is like a log. There were so many things I wanted to mention in the post, it seemed like the only way to fit them all in! Thanks for your sweet comment. We did “make some memories!”

  5. October 13, 2011 5:27 pm

    Looks and sounds fantastic πŸ™‚ Love the photos. The kids are so cute!

    Angela
    x

  6. October 13, 2011 5:53 pm

    Aren’t they, Angela! I feel so fortunate to still have lots of little ones coming along in our family! They bring so much joy!

  7. dave permalink
    October 15, 2011 12:42 am

    It was great seeing you. Hope to again soon.

  8. Meg permalink
    October 26, 2011 9:17 pm

    So glad we got to enjoy you for a short time….your gorgeous photos will last a lifetime though! They are invaluble to me….love them! AND love you!!

  9. October 30, 2011 3:00 am

    Love you too, Meg! These photos of the kids will be treasured by me, as well!

Leave a Reply

