Skip to content

A Very Special Gift

October 8, 2011
Shawl from Italy to Maine

Yesterday, I received a very special gift! It arrived in my Post Office box with the return address reading “Italy!” The special part is that it was sent to me by a friend whom I have never actually met. If you would have told me a year ago I was going to receive this gift, I never would have believed you.

Last September when I first moved back to Maine, I ventured (more like dove) into the world of online classes through Susannah Conway’s class “Unravelling.” I made many new “friends” from around the world, all women who were there participating in this course. We became fast friends sharing our life stories and daring to post photos of things very close to our hearts. It became obvious to me that although we were a circle of approximately 160 women from many different countries, who spoke many different languages, we all were struggling with very similar issues. Wow! How eye-opening for me to actually feel connected, supported and understood by so many women I have never actually met. One day, Gisella from Italy, (isn’t that a beautiful name, Gisella?) mentioned she makes shawls, and she asked if anyone in the group would like one. I said I would love one to wrap around my shoulders as I sit pounding on my computer on these chilly Maine days. She said she was would begin making one with me in mind. I really was very touched by this gesture. Many months past, and I somewhat forgot about the shawl, until yesterday. When I saw the package marked with a return address of Italy, I knew exactly what was inside!

Shawl, Mac computer and coffee cup

The warmth of friendship


So here I sit, with this beautiful gift wrapped around my shoulders made by the hands of a friend I have never met and probably never will. I feel the warmth of her thoughtfulness, and that she cared enough about someone half way around the world to spend time making this special gift for me.

I was telling my 17-year-old daughter that sometimes the people you meet online really do become friends. She reminded me that I have been preaching otherwise now for about 12 years…..

Thank you, Gisella. I will always cherish this precious gift made by a stranger, who became a friend. This world is a big, lonely place sometimes. I am very fortunate to have friends close by to have coffee or dinner with, or to sit in the same room together and laugh and cry. But I also am very thankful for my new further away friends I have met and continue to meet from around the world. These women ARE “true” friends too.. They make the world feel like a much smaller, warmer and friendlier place to live. I think I may have changed my tune…

If you are enjoying my blog, I would love, love to have new friends following along with me. Please just add your email address into the space provided up there on the right! And I would love to have you “Like” my page and join me over on Facebook.
Until next time.
Love from Your Friend,
Nanette

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Paula Steingas permalink
    October 8, 2011 2:20 am

    what a very special gift and the best ones are the handmade ones from the heart…truly a labor of love and straight from Italy! wow! The shawl is gorgeous and love the colors. What a gift to have friends from all over the world and yet you have never met her…how sweet of you Giselle and yes, a beautiful name! I know Nanette will treasure that gift from you.

    • October 8, 2011 2:30 am

      Paula, isn’t it beautiful? You always make such gorgeous gifts from the heart. Your friends and family are so fortunate to recieve your wonderful handmade gifits!

  2. Anne Stuer permalink
    October 8, 2011 1:15 pm

    The shawl is gorgeous, Nanette! I love the soft look of the yarn and the colors are luscious! I really like the second photo with the items in the background out of focus. Gisella has a very giving heart and is very talented, I’m sure you’ll treasure this gift for a long time. How special!!!

  3. October 8, 2011 3:29 pm

    I am not surprised that you have made many online friends. Just being in close proximity to you makes my days brighter and I always leave your presence feeling cared for, understood, and inspired. That warmth and true interest in others comes through your blog posts, comments, and supportive suggestions. You are a gem.

  4. October 8, 2011 3:53 pm

    What a beautiful and special gift.

  5. October 8, 2011 6:12 pm

    Kathryn, thank you for your comment and for visiting my blog! So nice to have visitors!

  6. October 10, 2011 10:17 am

    my goodness, what a beautiful shawl! and what a lovely gift to recieve šŸ™‚ some of my best friends found their way to me through the magic of the internet — we are living in a magical age indeed šŸ™‚ x

  7. October 10, 2011 1:03 pm

    We certainly are, Susannah. Not sure I would have found this much “magic” if not for you! xoxo

Leave a Reply

