Skip to content

The Tables are Turned

October 4, 2011
vintage style bike on white picket fence

For a lot of people, including myself, it’s tough being in front of the camera! If you are one of these people, you know what I mean. If you aren’t, well…consider yourself fortunate. Why do you think I take photos anyway?? ๐Ÿ™‚ Whenever a camera is aimed at me, I make a ridiculous face. I stick out my tongue, I do anything to escape from revealing the “real me” to the camera and its operator. So, if you ask me to photograph you, I feel one of my very most important jobs is to make you feel comfortable in front of my camera, in front of me. Let’s be honest, if you are not comfortable and don’t trust me to be looking out for your very best interest, there is no way I will get great, relaxed shots of you that really, really represent who you are. And in the end, that is my biggest goal. I hope, if you ask my previous clients if they felt comfortable in front of my camera, they would say “yes!” Hopefully, they would even say they felt they could be themselves and that they had a great time shooting “to boot!”
So the other day, I was out shooting this cute, turquoise bicycle, and someone turned the tables and started photographing me and….well, let’s just say I cringed. But when he emailed me the images, I felt in all fairness, if I ask others to allow me to post and blog images I take of them, I guess I should have the …hmmm….guts to post a couple of myself.

Pull Back, Vintage bike in Autumn

Shooting the bike

photographing bike, Maine

Trying to get the right angle

So, Mark, thanks for taking these photos. It really has been a pleasure chatting with you about photography as we meet at sunrise, and on Broad St., and even over taking photos of a cute, turquoise bicycle. I’m sure we will meet many more times throughout the year as we do out best to capture life here in Bethel, Maine. Here are a couple “pull backs” from when I was out shooting the adorable turquoise bike leaning against the white picket fence. Its hard for me to post these images. Not because I don’t think they are great shots, they are. But because they feature moi. And then, of course, I had to turn the tables. ๐Ÿ™‚ And, Mark, I won’t hold it against you that you shoot with a Nikon!

vintage bike, Mark Harrington

Mark with bike

Friends…if you share with me before or during our session that its tough for you to be photographed, I get it, I understand!! And I will do everything within my power to make you feel comfortable and beautiful in front of my camera! Trust me!

xoxo
Nanette

P.S. Photographing a bicycle is so much harder than I ever thought it would be! Moral of the story, I’d love to have you ask me to photograph you, but please don’t ask me to photograph your bike without you!

vintage style bike

"It is the unknown around the corner that turns my wheels". ~ Heinz Stucke

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 9:36 am

    Well said Nanette…..I do the same thing when a camera is pointed at me….in fact I do a bit worse but in the end with exactly the same underlying thoughts…Nice bke by the way

  2. Paula Steingas permalink
    October 4, 2011 10:32 am

    Oh Nanette..this is a wonderful blog and great title and gorgeous pics! Love all the turquoise!! I am sure you have a knack of making people feel at ease when you are photographing them with your fun, loving, positive personality…it is a gift you have been given and so happy you are using it!
    love you my dear friend.

  3. October 4, 2011 7:37 pm

    I really enjoyed your post “The Tables Are Turned”. My daugher’s rain jacket has the same pattern as the bike bumper!!

    • October 4, 2011 11:41 pm

      Maybe we should do a photo session of your daughter with her polka dot raincoat riding the polka dotted bike!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Anne Stuer permalink
    October 5, 2011 11:45 am

    This is a great blog!! Love the shots of the photographer in action… and the bike is adorable too!!!

Leave a Reply

