Skip to content

As the Sun Sets

May 30, 2011
Sunset In Maine

As the sun sets on my time here in this sweet, little village in the Western mountains of Maine, I sit and look out my window and think.  I have lived here for the past nine months and mostly it has been wonderful. I have met many new friends, and reconnected with several friends I knew when I lived here years ago. I have grown and changed in this space and all the while, I have watched the comings and goings outside my window. Tonight the windows are open, the crickets are chirping, and I watch the villagers and visitors enter and exit the restaurants and pubs that I can see from my window. People walking in expectantly looking for a good meal or just some socializing with their friends, neighbors or family. I notice a couple who I am acquainted with strolling in the door of the incredible Asian restaurant across the way, and I know they go out very little.  But tonight is a long weekend and folks often do something a little special to celebrate considering they don’t have to get up and go to work on Monday morning.

Village in Maine

View from my Window

I smell all the delicious smells from the restaurants as they intermix in this warm, spring air. I am happy to just be here for tonight and one more night after this. I will miss my little village, miss watching the comings and goings outside my window. I will miss watching the sun go down over the trees and listening to the noises outside as it gets late and people start heading home.

I will leave here on Tuesday for three months and return to our home in Vermont. My teenage girls are excited to see their friends there and be back in their old bedrooms. I am looking forward to reconnecting with my Vermont girlfriends, sleeping in my old but comfy bed, and not having to walk the dog several times a day, as he can wander in the woods there alone.

When I return in September, there will be a chill in the air and this humid summer weather will mostly be a thing of the past for another season.  While I am gone,  the village will still hustle and bustle without me….. I hope it doesn’t change too much before I get back.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne Stuer permalink
    May 30, 2011 1:06 am

    I’ll miss you this summer… it was wonderful to reconnect and watch our friendship grow. See you in the Fall, if not before…

  2. May 30, 2011 1:18 am

    I will miss you too, Anne. Our long coffee chats that often turn into lunch. Would love to have you plan a visit to come see me in Vt. If not, I will look forward to seeing you in Sept…

  3. Darla Dee permalink
    May 30, 2011 1:20 am

    You are so lucky to have two such great places to live. Your friends in each of the villages are happy to share you, knowing that your heart has enough room for all of us. I’m thrilled to have you back and know that in the fall I’ll feel the same as your friends who will miss you while you are here. I hope you do a follow up post of your view outside your Vermont home. Very different lifestyles are depicted from your two window views!

    • May 30, 2011 1:37 am

      Darla, you are so right that i am fortunate to live in two great places and have wonderful, loving, and interesting friends in both!! Great idea for a post with the view from my Vermont window! See you soon!

  4. Andrea permalink
    May 30, 2011 1:43 am

    Enjoy your summer in Vermont, Nan! I look forward to your photos and posts from there! 🙂

    • May 30, 2011 2:15 am

      Thanks, Andrea! Enjoy your summer in Northern Maine! I am hoping to make it up sometime this summer. Would love to see you!

  5. erin mcgillicuddy permalink
    May 30, 2011 2:04 pm

    nan where is this village in Maine? this piece is wonderful

    • May 30, 2011 2:16 pm

      Hi Erin, I am in Bethel near Sunday River. The village is about a half hour from Gorham, NH. Very pretty and Norman Rockwell-ish!

Leave a Reply

