Skip to content

Tomorrow is the day

January 19, 2013

kite, flying kite, blue sky, colors, Maine coast, Nanette Faye PHotography, kite on canvas 650 for blogTomorrow is the day I have been anticipating and preparing for… for years. I have actually been very actively preparing myself for almost exactly 2 1/2 years.  Am I prepared? Probably not. Am I the most prepared I could probably be? Yes, I would say I am.  I knew back a few years ago, that when both my girls left the nest, it would be a very hard transition for me. My daughters have pretty much been my whole life since the day they were born. I was the ripe old age of 32 when I started having babies, and had been waiting so long, it seemed. So, back a little over 2 years ago, when I could start to “feel” this time was not far away, I began preparations….for me. I knew I needed to figure out who I wanted to be when I grew up and if not at this age, when the kids are flying out of the nest, then when? I needed to do it for me but also, just as importantly, for them. They need to know that I trust their instincts enough for me to be more of a quiet supporter of their lives now….to let them find the path they are meant to find, without worrying that they are my only source of happiness.  They also need to know that its ok, more than ok..essential for mothers to have fulfilling, exciting lives after their children fly the nest! So here we are…

And I am proud to say, I am so excited for my daughters, and so proud. They are ready to fly. Ready for take-off to all the exciting “places” this world has to offer them. They are strong and confident. They have both tested their wings, and they are working just fine! And their Mama? Well, I am ready to ease into the next chapter of my life with a little plan of my own… of just who I might want to be when I grow up!

That’s it from here as we finish preparing to move our oldest into her own little apartment near her favorite college campus tomorrow!

Lots of love,

Nanette

www.nanettefayephotography.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelley permalink
    January 19, 2013 4:37 pm

    Oh, Nanette, how easily I identify with your emotions, however, I was not as prepared for this adventure as you!

  2. Louise permalink
    January 19, 2013 4:52 pm

    Your words, Nanette, brought tears to my eyes… I know this feeling of seeing the boat sailing on a turquoise sea without you on board. You have a beautiful way to express your faith to your daughters. One certitude will stay for ever, your are their Mama and they always be your daughters, this no one will be able to destroy. xo

  3. January 19, 2013 9:34 pm

    <3 LOVE, LOVE…..you are such an inspiration!! Louise says it all!!

  4. January 27, 2013 6:40 pm

    Wishing you strength for this day. My girls are 4 and 7 and I can’t imagine how hard it must be to let them fly when the time comes. I’m sure you have given them everything and more to flourish! Hugs to you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

