Skip to content

Ringing in the New Year ~ Flying Solo

January 10, 2013
Path to the beach

Path to the beach

After the rush of the holidays, I always enjoy the peace and quiet of January. On a whim, I decided to begin that time of introspection a little early, and to spend New Year’s Eve on my own this year. I have been contemplating doing this for a while but this year presented itself to be the perfect time.  Since doing two portrait sessions this past summer on Kennebunkport Beach (Gooch’s Beach), I had been eyeing a little Inn on the water called….yup, The Seaside Inn! I knew they were open year ’round, and I had been wanting to check them out. I called the day before New Year’s Eve, and they still had a room available and a deal at the off-season rate of $88.00 which included a delicious breakfast!  The gentleman who  took my reservation sounded a  bit hesitant that there would only be one of me but I assured him it was fine, and that I was looking forward to it. I gathered my camera, books, lots of warm clothes, writing materials and Susannah Conway’s workbook to write about “intentions” for 2013, and headed on my way.

The Village

The Village

The Village tree

The Village tree

Shop window

Shop window

I spent about an hour and a half before sunset photographing all around Kennebunkport Village. I hadn’t been there in the winter since I used to live on Moody Beach way back in the 70′s. We used to go there for dinner once in a while as it was one of the few villages that had open restaurants in the wintertime back then..  Boy, how things have changed. It was a very cold evening but I got lots of shots I was happy with, and then popped into Allison’s Restaurant for a beer and some take-out food to eat at the Inn. Again, I experienced a few folks who seemed to feel they should chat with me as I was alone, but honestly, I was perfectly happy to sit at a little table, sip my beer, warm up a little bit and peruse the images I had shot that evening. And then I headed out to find my Inn for the night.

It was such a sweet place….kind of old-fashioned. They still use the turquoise keys chains with the numbers on them!  And my bedside lamp was adorned with a shell.  Everything  was meticulously clean and quaint. And I had all the comforts of a more modern hotel including free internet. The gentleman who checked me in, the same man I had spoken with on the phone the day before, told me he had been expecting me earlier. How sweet to think that someone was expecting me…

The Seaside Inn

The Seaside Inn

I ate my delicious vegetarian Panini from Allison’s, chatted on the phone to a dear friend and then tucked myself in to look at my photos, do some writing about the past year and the new year to come, and just revel in the quietness of being surrounded by the ocean. I had not had any expectations for the evening…maybe I would write, maybe I wouldn’t. Maybe I would go to sleep at 7pm or maybe I wouldn’t sleep at all, maybe I would talk to lots of friends or maybe  I would enjoy the solitude and speak to no one. However the evening turned out, it would be just wonderful, just the way it was. The last evening of 2012.

I finally fell asleep before midnight and awoke before sunrise. I layered on all my cozy, warm clothes that I had brought, grabbed my camera and made my way out into the darkness before dawn. It was so cold I was afraid my camera might not cooperate but she did. I walked along the snowy path to the beach in front of the Inn and looked around. In the light before dawn, I could see that there were a few other people who were there to see the sun rise on 2013.  I photographed for the next hour or so and wow, what a sunrise it was!  It was spectacular in ways I have never seen…huge dark cloud cover in parts of the sky while other parts were beautiful blue. It was a sight to behold. I filled the card in my camera and decided it was time to head back to the Inn for breakfast.   I found delicious hot coffee waiting for me along with homemade cinnamon muffins, fresh fruit and ….lots more hot, delicious coffee. I sat in their adorable little honey-wood paneled dining room, looking out the window at a gorgeous snowy Maine scene, and knew I had made the right decision to start the New Year in this way. Will I do the same thing next New Year’s Eve? Maybe…or maybe not… only time will tell.

Just before the sun rose on 2013

Just before the sun rose on 2013

Waiting for the sunrise

Waiting for the sunrise

First light

First light

reflections

reflections

Snow dunes

Snow dunes

Classic cottage

Classic cottage

Looking south

Looking south

Fellow 2013 sunrise greeters and pups

Fellow 2013 sunrise greeters and pups

Waiting for Spring

Waiting for Spring

Glorious early morn first day of 2013

Glorious early morn first day of 2013

Happy New Year to you all!

Lots of love,

Nanette

www.nanettefayephotography.com

34 Comments leave one →
  1. Bret permalink
    January 11, 2013 9:55 am

    Very nice! I really enjoyed that.

  2. January 11, 2013 11:27 am

    Wow. This is your best shoot EVER!!

  3. Elizabeth Auch permalink
    January 11, 2013 11:40 am

    Absolutely beautiful! Thank you for sharing your journey. Love you!

    • January 11, 2013 5:02 pm

      My pleasure, Elizabeth. Thank YOU so much for caring enough to follow along on my journey! Love you too! xo

  4. Mary McGillicuddy permalink
    January 11, 2013 5:44 pm

    This is my favorite, favorite, favorite. Love the whole thing — the shots are spectacular. Stunning.

  5. Meg permalink
    January 11, 2013 5:58 pm

    This is so beautiful….such a pleasure to read and gaze at the gorgeous photos. So proud to have such a talented, insightful aunt :-)

  6. Louise permalink
    January 11, 2013 6:22 pm

    Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning.
    Albert Einstein

    • January 13, 2013 9:16 pm

      I agree, Louise..every year…every day is a new occasion to start over and question.. xo

  7. Paula ~ friend of Nanettes permalink
    January 11, 2013 6:47 pm

    So very sweet and the pictures are outstanding! Wow! What a beautiful way to start the new year…seeing the sunrise and the dawn of a new day and year…nice quote from Louise…great words of wisdom for us all. You are so brave my dear friend…luv u

  8. January 12, 2013 11:25 am

    I love the coast in the winter! I was just there! Next trip I’ll stay at The Seaside. I didn’t think they’d be open. Great to know!

    • January 13, 2013 9:18 pm

      Danyel, you will love the staff at the Seaside Inn! Such a wonderful, warm and welcoming place!

  9. January 12, 2013 11:58 am

    I love this idea! It looks like you had a very cozy and peaceful new year. Love the photos, especially the one of the coffee house (so cute!) and the one of the family on the beach in the early morning.

    • January 13, 2013 9:19 pm

      Thank you, Jen! I had a wonderful start to the New Year! Kennebunkport has some of the quaintest little shops!

  10. January 12, 2013 12:13 pm

    Lovely images!!

  11. January 12, 2013 2:50 pm

    So gorgeous! I love this idea. I love Maine in the cold of winter, when most vacationers are going elsewhere. Your night sounds perfect. And your photos are gorgeous.

    • January 13, 2013 9:22 pm

      clowncakearen Jacot, thank you for visiting my blog! I so appreciate your sweet comments! And yes, Maine in winter is just wonderful!

      • January 13, 2013 9:52 pm

        I have no idea how my name got changed to “clowncakearen”…that should just be Karen, btw!

      • January 13, 2013 9:57 pm

        Oh, my gosh, so funny, Karen! :)

  12. January 12, 2013 6:09 pm

    What unusual way to celebrate New Year, I love this idea! Photos are great, snowy beach looks so peaceful and somehow sad…

    • January 13, 2013 9:28 pm

      It was a very different way for me to spend New year’s eve and morning too but I loved it. It was very peaceful….interesting that you perceived them to be sad. Thank you for your input!

  13. January 12, 2013 8:07 pm

    First of all, you are genius! What could be better than starting the new year off alone at a spectacular place. PERFECT!

    I LOVE Susannah Conway. LOVE! What a perfect thing to do at the start of the new year. That was a great idea.

    I love the images you captured. Such a pretty place. Very peaceful.

    I hopt this year is wonderful for you. Sending ltos of good wishes. Love, Becky

    • January 13, 2013 9:31 pm

      Haha…not sure genius, but thanks! :) Susannah is lovely and has helped me to find so much insight into myself and my world. I wish you a wonderful New Year too, Life with Kaishon!

  14. Andrea permalink
    January 12, 2013 10:00 pm

    Nan, I always knew you were so very creative and had such a talented eye. I love your photos and I so enjoy your writing! Happy 2013 to my sweet friend! Love you!

    • January 20, 2013 9:54 am

      Dearest Andrea, Happy 2013 to you too! Hope to visit with you again in this new year! Thanks for all your sweet support! Love you too!

  15. Shelley permalink
    January 13, 2013 10:27 am

    I concur with all of the above comments and echo them! You are such an insightful woman, saying exactly how the rest of us feel but have a hard time putting into words. You live your life in such an inspiring way. :) Happy 2013 my friend! May this year bring you more joy and happiness than one could ever hope for! <3

    • January 20, 2013 9:58 am

      Dearest Shelley, if by trying to live an inspiring life, I have inspired one other person to try to do the same, that makes me happy! I hope you and yours have a wonderful 2013 and I would love to catch up with you! Thank you for always being such a wonderful, supportive friend! xo

  16. Corinne Sternlieb permalink
    January 15, 2013 8:58 pm

    I always wanted to be seaside in winter… Thank you! …The photos took me on a little trip of my own. Thank you! We are our own good company, and what a centered way to begin a new year… I send my best wishes for a peaceful, oh so satisfying 2013 to you!! Hope to see you soon too. Love, Krin

    • January 20, 2013 2:05 pm

      Hello Corinne! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Happy I could take you on a little seaside trip! Maybe someday we should take a real one together to the ocean…I can think of someone else who may want to join us!! Happiest of New Year’s to you and your lovely girls! See you soon! xo

  17. Dale permalink
    March 12, 2013 12:08 pm

    We have stayed at the Seaside several times in Spring, Fall and Winter. It is a very warm, inviting and relaxing place to stay. The staff always makes you feel like old friends coming back for a visit. You captured it perfectly in your photos.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

